Ysgol Hen Heol

Old Road School 


The New Curriculum September 2022


Four Core Purposes


4 Core Purposes


The 4 purposes will be at the heart of our new curriculum. They will be the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support our children and young people to be:

Ambitious, capable learners who are ready to learn throughout their lives.
Enterprising, creative contributors who are ready to play a full part in life and work.
Ethical, informed citizens who are ready to be citizens of Wales and the world.
Healthy, confident individuals who are ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.

Key elements

The new curriculum will include:

      • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16
      • 3 cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence
      • progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16
      • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.

The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

      • Expressive arts
      • Health and well-being
      • Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16)
      • Languages, literacy and communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages)
      • Mathematics and numeracy
      • Science and technology (including computer science).

A school’s curriculum is everything a learner experiences in pursuit of the four purposes. It is not simply what we teach, but how we teach and crucially, why we teach it.